To conduct business in New Hampshire, the state may require you to post a surety bond before you can be properly licensed. The purpose of bond coverage is to protect your customers from financial harm in the event of misconduct or mismanagement by your business.
In addition to the state, more than 30 New Hampshire municipalities require certain trades and occupations to be licensed and bonded, and you need to know what is required in your location before starting a business there.
To make sure you’re in compliance with New Hampshire bonding regulations, contact NNA Surety Bonds. Our specialists have been providing reliable bond coverage to companies and individuals across the United States since 1957.
Mortgage brokers in New Hampshire must provide a $50,000 surety bond in order to get a business license from the NH Banking Department. This protects your clients and the state in the event that they are harmed by a violation, as outlined in 397-A:17 of the New Hampshire Statutes, such as fraud or deceit, unprofessional conduct, or simply demonstrating a lack of experience, knowledge, and financial integrity. Broker licenses are applied for electronically via the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS).
Surety bond premiums for New Hampshire mortgage brokers start at $375 per year.
You’ll need a $25,000 surety bond to do business as a vehicle dealer in New Hampshire. This bonding requirement includes the following categories:
Your annual cost for this auto dealer bond is $187 for well-qualified applicants. However, an underwriter’s evaluation of your credit score could impact your premium rate.
Public adjusters in New Hampshire must post a $20,000 surety bond before they can legally operate. The bond contract authorizes the insurance commissioner to recover damages from the bond on behalf of any victim injured by a public adjuster’s erroneous acts, failure to act, conviction of fraud, or unfair practices according to NH Rev Stat § 402-D:11 (2015).
NH public adjuster bond premiums start at $200. As with most surety policies, your exact cost for coverage is determined by an evaluation of your credit health.
Real estate brokers in The Granite State are required to post a modest $25,000 bond along with their license application to the state. Your annual cost for this bond is $42.
The bond agreement puts forth that the principal will conduct business ethically and in accordance with state law as provided in Chapter 331-A of the New Hampshire Real Estate Practice Act. Should you, as the broker, act unethically or illegally, a party who is harmed may file a claim against your bond policy.
|Bond Name||Coverage Amount||Cost
|Mortgage Broker Bond||$50,000||$375||New Hampshire Banking Department|
|Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond||$25,000||$187*||New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles|
|Public Adjuster Bond||$20,000||$200*||New Hampshire Department of Insurance|
|Real Estate Broker Bond||$25,000||$42||New Hampshire Real Estate Commission|
* Cost can vary depending on the bond amount required and your credit rating
Our knowledge of New Hampshire bond requirements allows us to provide accurate quotes quickly. For guidance through the process of selecting surety bonds for your business, talk to one of our experts today.