The state of Mississippi requires professionals, companies and others to post a surety bond to protect those with whom they do business.
Used car dealers should be aware that their bond requirement increased from $15,000 to $25,000 in July 2015, making it the same as for new car dealers. In addition to state bonding requirements, many Mississippi cities and counties—from Amory to Yazoo—require bonding of contractors, merchants and others.
To be certain you are in compliance with Mississippi bonding regulations, talk to one of our experts. We carry several popular Mississippi bonds, including appraisal management company bonds, contractor bonds, new car dealer bonds and used car dealer bonds.
Real estate appraisers are licensed by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission, which requires them to post a $20,000 appraisal management company bond. As set forth in the Mississippi Appraisal Management Company Registration Act of 2015, the bond is for the “use, benefit and indemnity of any person who suffers any damage or loss" as a result of the AMC's breach of contract or any violation of law. Your cost for this bond starts as low as $200 for a year and typically can be issued instantly.
The Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance requires a $10,000 surety bond for businesses that cash checks. Filing this bond ensures you will comply with all state laws and regulations.
If your business causes harm to a consumer, that individual may be paid damages out of your bond amount. You will then be responsible for repaying that money to your surety bond company. To protect your company from financial loss in the event of a bond claim, you should purchase business insurance.
Annual premiums for check casher bonds start at $100 in Mississippi, but this number may be higher depending on your credit.
Most contractors in Mississippi are licensed and bonded by cities and counties. Over a dozen municipalities require contractor bonds, with $5,000 being the most common bond liability amount. Your cost for this bond will be a small percentage of that, and will depend on your credit score.
Below is a list of Mississippi locations that currently require contractor license bonds:
Please note that this list is subject to change. To be certain of the latest bonding requirements in your area, speak with one of our bond specialists.
New and used motor vehicle dealers in Mississippi must post a $25,000 surety bond to the Motor Vehicle Commission as a licensing requirement. The state requires this bond to protect customers, other dealers, and the state. If a dealer commits fraudulent acts or fails to follow legal provisions of the bond, a claim up to the full amount of the bond may be awarded to the injured party. The state also allows for a $100,000 bond for dealers with multiple locations.
The Mississippi auto dealer bond starts as low as $115 for applicants with good credit.
|Bond Name||Coverage Amount||Cost
|Appraisal Management Company Bond||$20,000||$200*||Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board|
|Check Casher Bond||$10,000||$100*||Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance|
|Contractor License Bond||$1,000–$5,000||$100*||City and county governments|
|New and Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond||$25,000||$115*||Mississippi Motor Vehicle Commission|
* Cost can vary depending on the bond amount required and your credit rating
Our knowledge of Mississippi bond requirements enables us to provide accurate quotes quickly. For guidance through the process of selecting surety bonds for your business, connect with our team of experts today.