The state of Delaware requires professionals, companies, and agencies to post surety bonds to protect those with whom they do business.
General contractor bonds are not required by the state, but are mandated by New Castle County and the City of Newark. There are various bond categories for contractors in these areas, including building contractors, subcontractors, utility contractors, plumbers, and minor renovation contractors.
To make sure you're in compliance with Delaware bonding regulations, talk to the specialists at NNA Surety Bonds. We've been providing affordable coverage to companies and individuals across the United States since 1957.
Anyone wishing to conduct business as an appraisal management company must post a $20,000 surety bond to the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation. The bond protects your customers and the public from harm by providing a way for the injured party to collect damages.
A claim can be filed if you violate Delaware law or act in such a way as to bring financial harm to your clients. Prohibited acts include altering reports submitted by independent appraisers and using the report for any purpose other than the intended use stated in the report. Your cost for this surety bond in DE starts at just $200 a year.
Surety bonds for Delaware contractors working in New Castle County range from $10,000 for master plumbers and other specialty contractors up to $200,000 for home builders with unlimited maximum project valuations.
The bond agreement states that you will comply with all provisions of the New Castle County Code as well as state of Delaware and federal laws, rules, and regulations. A violation of those provisions could be used by a customer or the state as the basis for a claim. If damages are awarded, they would be paid from your bond, which you then would have to repay to the surety company.
Your cost for this policy will be a small percentage of the bond’s total coverage amount, and will vary based on the underwriter’s assessment of your financial health.
Delaware check cashing businesses must obtain a $5,000 surety bond as part of their licensure. This licensing requirement applies to any business that cashes checks, drafts, or money orders.
Filing a surety bond ensures that you will comply with all laws and regulations for your industry. If you break the law or otherwise harm a consumer, damages may be paid to the harmed party out of your surety bond. You will then be responsible to pay back the bond amount.
Annual premiums for check casher bonds start at $100, but premium amounts vary based on your credit score.
Contractors in Delaware are licensed at the county or city level. The bond amount and requirements vary depending on the city or county you perform the work in, but you can typically expect the premium to range from 1% to 15% of the bond amount. The cost of your Delaware contractor license bond may be lower or higher based on your credit rating and business finances.
Contractors licensed to work in Newark must acquire the right surety bond for their vocation category and project size. Most general contractors will need a bond of $50,000, $75,000 or $100,000, while minor renovation contractors will need either a $10,000 or a $25,000 policy.
|Contractor Type||Project Cost||Bond Required|
|General Contractor||Up to $99,999.99||$50,000.00|
|General Contractor||$100,000.00 to $249,999.99||$75,000.00|
|General Contractor||$250,000.00 to $499,999.99||$100,000.00|
|Limited General Contractor||$500,000.00 to $999,999.99||$150,000.00|
|Unlimited General Contractor||$1,000,000 and above||$200,000.00|
|Limited Subcontractor (HVAC, Fire, Plumbing, Mechanical)||Less than $1,000,000||$50,000.00|
|Unlimited Subcontractor (HVAC, Fire, Plumbing, Mechanical)||$1,000,000 and above||$200,000.00|
|Minor Renovation Contractor||Up to $24,999.99||$10,000.00|
|Minor Renovation Contractor||$25,000 to $75,999.99||$25,000.00|
The State of Delaware requires mortgage loan brokers to be licensed and to post a $25,000 bond to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner. DE mortgage brokers with good credit can receive the necessary coverage for an annual cost of $188 through NNA Surety Bonds.
As stated in the bond agreement, a mortgage broker bond is for the benefit of all consumers injured by any wrongful act, omission, default, fraud or misrepresentation by a licensee.
The state’s Division of Motor Vehicles requires Delaware auto dealers to post a $25,000 surety bond whether you sell new or used cars, motorcycles, mobile homes, or trailers. You are required to be licensed if you sell more than four vehicles per year.
With NNA Surety Bonds, your cost for a DE auto dealer policy is $250 per year for applicants with excellent credit.
To work as a licensed public adjuster in The Blue Hen State, you must post a $20,000 surety bond to the Delaware Department of Insurance as provided in Delaware Code – Title 18, Chapter 17A – Licensing of Public Adjusters. Qualified public adjusters can receive proper surety bond coverage for as little as $140.
|Bond Name||Coverage Amount||Cost
|Appraisal Management Company Bond||$20,000||$200||Delaware Division of Professional Regulation - Council on Real Estate Appraisers|
|Building Contractor License Bond - New Castle County||$10,000-$200,000||Varies||New Castle County|
|Contractor License Bond||$25,000 - $200,000||Varies||Cities and counties|
|Contractor License Bond - Newark||$25,000-$1,000,000||Varies||CIty of Newark|
|Mortgage Broker Bond||$25,000||$188||Delaware Office of the State Bank Commissioner|
|Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond||$25,000||$250||Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles|
|Public Adjuster Bond||$20,000||$140||Delaware Insurance Commissioner|
* Cost can vary depending on the bond amount required and your credit rating
Our knowledge of Delaware bond requirements helps us provide accurate quotes quickly. For guidance through the process of selecting or renewing surety bonds for your business, talk to one of our specialists today.